top of page
  • radskam

Solo drives and the little bundles of joy

Updated: Dec 21, 2020

Among the many setbacks that the Covid-19 pandemic threw at us, leisure travel and vacations feature on the top, at least for the discerning travellers. For someone like me, to whom holidays are a must-include component of calendar planner, 2020 has admittedly been a miss (or a mess!). Having been used to taking a short mid-year break and a longer, more relaxed one (usually after the close of Indian festive season but before the late-December frenzy), it was certainly not easy to accept the reality of having to go vacation-less. And then, how long can the wanderlust in you be suppressed? It was when I decided to set foot on solo drives – not too far off, but still far enough to satiate the wander bug in me.


Photo: Hike up the Narayanagiri Hills


And the experiences have been nothing short of delight and bliss. In the process, I have managed to explore lesser-known natural wonders and historic structures around Bangalore and also to discover little joys of life. My first weekend hunt in my antique Maruti-800 (which I refer to as Red Beauty), was to a place called Muthanallur lake, about 35 kms off Bangalore. The road leading up to the lake is quite scenic with lush green farms and dense vegetation. The lake which is about 4 kms long and 1 km wide offers a lot for the bird watchers, with sightings of Kingfisher, Stork, Cormorant, Koel, Woodpeckers and even some of the rare species such as black baza and Oriental turtle dove. However, I wasn’t lucky to spot any, perhaps because I hit the place post-noon. The adjoining flower gardens hugged by wild shrubbery and the sprawling agricultural fields are a treat to nature lovers.


Then came the descend to the Pearl Valley, known as Muthyala Maduvu in Kannada which translates to pool of pearls. Located about 40 kms off Bangalore, the place is nestled amidst the hills from where the cascade flows. Although the waterfall isn’t as breath-taking a sight as the popular Shivanasamudra in Chamarajnagar or the Jog in Shimoga, the backdrop of the mountains and the placid pool make for a picturesque setting – good-enough for a quick detox from the screens and gadgets. But what I liked more about the place is the adjoining lake facing the hills, which offered me the ideal spot to unwind and enjoy the fresh, cool breeze.


Experiencing solitude is a pure bliss. It opens up one’s perspectives to life, injects fresh sense of purpose, all while giving you the undivided ‘me time’ being away from all the distractions and pressures of drudgery routines. The yearning in me to discover solitude and embark on solo travels only grew stronger after I read ‘The shooting star’ by Shivya Nath. Of course, my traverses and travails are nothing in comparison to the mighty adventures of Shivya in the Bavarian Alps or in the Amazon rainforest of Eucador. But, I’m glad I made a start and more was about to unfold.


Photo: View atop Shivagange Hills


My next hunt was a hike up the Narayanagiri Hills, about 60 kms off Bangalore in Jalamangala village of Ramanagara district. With well-laid out steps on the rock leading up to the peak and metal railings on both sides, this is an easy 30 mins trek, which even beginners can effortlessly pull through. The peak at a height of about 3,800 feet offers enchanting views of the surrounding hills, the fields beneath and the playful moments of clouds flirting with the mountains. After breathing in some fresh air atop, I descended to spend some time at the vast, expansive lake at the base of the mountain, vividly looking like a painting cast in the background of two supinely resting gigantic rocks.


One of the things about solo travel is, it pushes you out of your comfort zone, challenges your beliefs and expands your (artificially created) boundary. Importantly, it is a way to celebrate freedom by being in the best company of one’s own self. My next destination was Shivagange, a hillock with a height of about 2,650 feet and located about 60 kms off Bangalore near Tumkur. This place attracts both adventure lovers and religious seekers. The 2-3 kms trek takes about 2-2.5 hours to reach the top, but the trail gets steep as you climb higher with some steps inclined at 60 degrees, whose base is just enough to accommodate a child’s foot. I made my way up to catch the glimpse of the majestic bull perched on the edge of the cliff, while making quick photo stops en route to capture my rendezvous with Shiva, Parvathi and Ganga. The exhilarating view of the monolithic rock from the top is worth the ascend, and the feeling only gets stronger when you see people climbing on bare foot with children mounted on shoulders. Just reinforced my belief that with determination, distance between journey and destination gets blurred. It also dwarfed my experience of trekking up the Sigiriya rock fortress in Sri Lanka a few years ago.


Photo: A miniature-looking Stonehenge atop Gudibande Fort


These rock climbs did ignite the adrenaline rush in me while also re-energizing my spirits. But I was looking for a little more variety – beyond lakes, mountains and peaks. That’s when my next expedition took stage – to Gudibande Fort. Located about 80 kms off Bangalore in Chikkaballapur, the fortress dates back to 17th century and features several caves, ruined temples and rock ponds which were built for rainwater harvesting. What excited me most about the place was the pathway leading up to the summit. With dense shrubbery and thick bushes on both sides, and wild flowering plants and creepers dangling from the dilapidated structures, it felt more like a forest trek amidst thick plantation cover. And well, if you thought Stonehenge and castles are wonders of only England/Scotland, then this place might make you rethink. The turrets and the mighty boulders spread across the rock offer a miniaturized look, perfect for an Insta shot. My excitement just got bigger on reaching the top and finding panoramic views of the vast Byrasagara lake below, adjoining green vistas and the quietly standing hills – a perfect place for a break-free retreat.


Photo: Dodda Ayur Rock Quarry (Chota Ladakh)


Ever wondered what’s common between a quarry and Ladakh? My next outing sought to unravel this. Dodda Ayur rock quarry, about 70 kms off Bangalore (in Kolar), popularly known as Chota Ladakh is an abandoned quarry filled with rain water and surrounded by rugged rocks. The calmness of the water body juxtaposed with fierce-looking rocky enclosure is a sight to watch. I sat down gazing at the sparkling water (no, not the chemicals but the sunlight piercing deep into it) and simply loved the tranquillity and serenity. However, having been to Ladakh previously, I didn’t find any resemblance – neither the landscape nor the drive leading up to the place. But, it still made for a quick weekend getaway, an avenue offering a perfect date with nature.


Before I conclude, its worth calling out one common factor between all these locations. The fact that they are all mighty open spaces and demophobia-free, make them a great draw in the current times. I could sit for hours and breathe in fresh air without the fear of mask-shaming or being labelled a Covidiot. Importantly, they have paved way for discovering little joys around – in a safe manner and experiencing abundance in minimalism (click here for my previous post on this topic), but without leaving me wanting on fun and excitement.

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page